Tags

, , ,

Yesterday, someone in a Facebook group I’m apart of came up with a writing prompt that caught my attention: come up with 15 synonyms for “heal.” My initial judgment was that the idea was a bit simple and wouldn’t yield exciting responses outside of what you might find if you Googled “heal synonyms.” I wondered why the person came up with this topic, and started thinking about how most people are always in the process of healing from something. I tripped and banged my knee while running up the stairs a few minutes ago, so I’m currently healing from that; more seriously, it seems like just about everybody is healing from some heartache or failure or trauma at any given time, whether they’re willing to talk about it or not. I decided to answer the prompt by repeating aloud, “to heal is to ___,” which led me to a bunch of different answers. The end result was:

acknowledge
confront
grieve
rest
reflect
understand
express
recover
progress
reconcile
affirm
transcend
strengthen
actualize
exist

It was a cool, low-hassle exercise that got my creative juices flowing. What other synonyms for heal are there? On another note, I recently found out that E.T. was modeled after poet Carl Sandburg, Albert Einstein, and a pug… what?

Be good,

Kyle

 

